Gluten Information

El Pollo Loco serves citrus-marinated fire-grilled chicken and freshly-prepared entrees, sides and salsas. We’re committed to providing our customers with high-quality ingredients, prepared with care.  In recent months, we have received numerous requests for information about the gluten content of our foods.  Like most restaurants, many of the foods we serve may include gluten.   

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) defines “gluten” as certain proteins found in the grains wheat, barley, rye, and hybrids of those grains (e.g., triticale).  Gluten can cause serious health problems in individuals with celiac disease.  FDA defines “gluten free” to mean that a food contains < 20 parts per million (ppm) gluten.  In addition, a “gluten free” food may not contain a gluten-containing grain or an ingredient derived from a gluten-containing grain (e.g., wheat flour) that has not been processed to remove gluten.  

For our customers with celiac disease or sensitivity to gluten, we have compiled this list to assist you with your menu choices.   

IMPORTANT: Please note, this information provides a list of menu items that are not made with gluten-containing ingredients.  However, El Pollo Loco does NOT claim that any of its foods are gluten free.    El Pollo Loco does not use dedicated chopping boards; fryers/frying oils; utensils; and/or food contact surfaces for gluten-containing foods.  We therefore do not guarantee that cross contact with gluten-containing foods will not occur. Depending on the guest’s level of sensitivity, this may or may not be a consideration.

The following information is based on current information provided by our approved food suppliers as of the date indicated below.  Please be aware that variations in formulation may occur due to changes in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions and/or product production at each of our restaurants. And, as ingredients can change, we recommend that you check back on a regular basis for up-to-date information.

MENU ITEMS THAT DO NOT USE GLUTEN-CONTAINING INGREDIENTS

Effective Date: 10/27/15

MENU ITEMS THAT DO NOT USE GLUTEN-CONTAINING INGREDIENTS
Left ColumnRight Column

Fire-Grilled Chicken

Sides

Fire Grilled Chicken (bone in)

Corn and Red Pepper Blend

Fire Grilled Chicken Breast

Broccoli

Fire Grilled Chicken Wing

Rice

Fire Grilled Chicken Thigh

Pinto Beans

Fire Grilled Chicken Leg

Black Beans

Skinless Chicken Breast

Loco Side Salad with Creamy Cilantro Dressing

Bowls and Salads

Mashed Potatoes without Gravy

Pollo Bowl®

Coleslaw

Ultimate Double Bowl – Chicken or Shrimp

 

Grande Avocado Bowl

 

Classic Salad (with dressing) – Chicken or Shrimp

 

Mexican Cobb Salad (w/ dressing) – Chicken or Shrimp

Kids’ Combos

Ultimate Double Chicken Salad

Chicken Leg

Under 500 Calories

Mini Pollo Bowl

Avocado Salad

 

Grilled Chicken Salad (No Dressing)

Snack Menu

Fire Grilled Skinless Breast Meat

Taco Al Carbon

Mini Pollo Bowl

 

Drinks

Extras/Other

Coca Cola

Chips and Guacamole

Diet Coke

Tortilla Chips

Coke “Zero”

6” Corn Tortilla

Cherry Coke

Creamy Cilantro Dressing

Barq’s Root Beer

Light Creamy Cilantro Dressing (Packet)

Sprite

Low Fat Citrus Vinaigrette

Hi-C Flashin’ Fruit Punch

Ranch Dressing (Packet)

Fanta Orange

House Salsa

Minute Maid Lemonade

Pico De Gallo

Minute Maid Light Lemonade

Avocado Salsa

Dr. Pepper

Creamy Cilantro Dip Cup

Iced Tea, FUZE Raspberry

Ranch Dip Cup

Gold Peak Fresh Brewed Mango Passion Tea

Guacamole

Gold Peak Fresh Brewed Unsweetened Tea

Sour Cream

Fresh Brewed Sweetened Tea (Texas Only)

Jalapeno Hot Sauce (Packet)

Horchata

Ketchup (Packet)

Coffee

Fresh Buttery Spread

Water, Bottled

Sliced Jalapeno Peppers

 

 

 


Some menu items may not be available at all restaurants. Limited time offers, test products or regional items have not been included. 

Additional Information:

Customers with general questions related to gluten and celiac disease can contact  http://www.celiac.nih.gov/organizations.aspx.

Customers with general allergy-related questions can contact the Food Allergy Research & Education (FARE) on the web at foodallergy.org or by telephone at (800) 929-4040.

Customers with questions related to gluten-containing ingredients in our regular, limited time or test menu items can contact our customer service hotline for information at 1-800-EPL-4YOU or 1-800-375-4968.